Compliance Review Committee

A WADA Permanent Special Committee

In 2015, the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) established a Compliance Review Committee (CRC) to monitor the compliance of Anti-Doping Organizations (ADOs) with the World Anti-Doping Code (Code) and International Standards. This independent, non-political body provides advice, guidance and recommendations to WADA’s Executive Committee on compliance matters.

The CRC is composed of six members including three independent compliance specialists from non-sporting industries, and three representatives of athletes, governments and sport. The WADA Athlete Council, the Public Authorities and the Olympic Movement each nominate one member to sit on the CRC, and the WADA Nominations Committee is responsible for identifying and vetting the three independent members, which includes the Chair.

Initially an Expert Group, the CRC was made a WADA Standing Committee by WADA’s Foundation Board in November 2016. Today, in line with the 2022 governance reforms, the CRC has been reclassified as a Permanent Special Committee, a change that seeks to recognize the Committee’s specific role and independence while maintaining its current composition and role.

Note: The main rules of the CRC will be articulated in the revised WADA Governance Regulations and its Terms of Reference will be updated to reflect the CRC’s status change. These documents require formal approval; once this process is complete, the updated documents will be made available.

Compliance Review Committee Terms of Reference 

WADA Contact: Compliance Team - Code Compliance

Below is the current list of CRC members:

Mr. Henry GOURDJI (Chair)

Ms. Vered DESHE 


Ms. Penny HEYNS
South Africa

  • Two-time Olympic Gold Medalist in Swimming (1996)
  • Three-time Olympian
  • Former World Record Holder in Swimming (breaststroke)

Ms. Barbara LEISHMAN (Vice Chair)

Mr. Michael PETROU