Independent Ethics Board

In November 2021, the Foundation Board approved a new Code of Ethics to establish clear ethical standards over the activities of WADA’s officials. This enables WADA to achieve its mission to lead a collaborative worldwide movement for doping-free sport and protect its core values of integrity and openness.

The Code of Ethics provides for the establishment of an Independent Ethics Board, in charge of implementing the Code and adjudicating any complaint that may arise under its scope of application.

Following a public call for applications to the Independent Ethics Board released on 7 January 2022 and receipt of 72 applicants, the Nominations Committee carried out a thorough process in order to conclude their appointment recommendations. This included reviewing, verifying and vetting all candidates, ensuring to the extent possible [except for the two members designated by the Public Authorities and the Olympic Movement] a balanced diversity, such as regional, gender and cultural.

In May 2022, the Foundation Board approved the membership of the new nine-member WADA Independent Ethics Board, which consists of: Independent Chair (1), Independent Members (6), and the Sports Movement and Public Authority Members (2). The Independent Ethics Board is in the process of forming its operational structure, which is expected to be in place in early 2023.

Below are the members of the Independent Ethics Board:

Independent Chair  

Prof. Mette Hartlev (Denmark)

Law professor, Chair of the Danish National Committee of Research Ethics in Health Sciences, former Chair of the Board of Directors of Anti-Doping Denmark  

Independent Member

Hon. Mary Ang’awa (Kenya)

Former Kenyan High Court Judge and Chief Magistrate, anti-corruption court. Arbitrator, Mentor with the Chartered Institute of Arbitration (UK).

Independent Member

Prof. Pascal Borry (Belgium)

Professor of Bioethics at Leuven University’s Faculty of Medicine. Former Deputy Chair of WADA’s Ethics Expert Group (2016-2020). 

Independent Member

Mr. Phil Hutchinson (UK)

Lawyer specialized in sports regulatory work.

Public Authority Nominee

Ms. Regina LaBelle (USA)

Lawyer and senior public policy professional. Director of the Addiction and Public Policy Initiative at the O’Neill Institute for National and Global Health Law at Georgetown University. Former acting Director of the Office of National Drug Control Policy.

Independent Member

Mr. Sal Perna (Australia)

40+ years of experience working against crime and corruption, ranging from public sector law enforcement to the corporate and private sectors. Previously served as the first Racing Integrity Commissioner in Victoria.

Independent Member

Dr. Rozle Prezelj OLY (Slovenia)

Three-time Olympian from Slovenia, PhD in Sports Law. Sport Ombudsman, Slovenia.

Sport Movement Nominee

Mr. Marc Theisen (Luxembourg)

Lawyer, sports arbitrator. President of the Sports and Legal Commission of the European Olympic Committees.

Independent Member

Ms. Ana Tuiketei (Fiji)

Barrister, CAS arbitrator and member of sports judicial and disciplinary committees.