WADA Inaugural Nominations Committee

In November 2018, WADA’s Foundation Board approved wide-ranging governance reforms that included formation of a Nominations Committee to ensure the right people in terms of skills and independence serve in senior governance roles within WADA.

In October 2019, WADA outlined the composition and mandate of WADA’s Inaugural Nominations Committee, which the Agency’s Executive Committee (ExCo) had approved in September 2018. The members were identified, recruited, vetted and recommended to the ExCo by Korn Ferry, an external agency that WADA had engaged for this purpose upon approval by the ExCo in May 2019. 

Below are the members of the Inaugural Nominations Committee:

Independent Chair

Ms. Diane Smith-Gander (Australia)

Business executive with 30+ years experience in banking, technology, consulting, government and sport.

Independent Member

Ms. Regine Buettner (Germany)

20+ years global experience in human resources (HR). Currently leading Global HR Practice for DHL Express.

Independent Member

Mr. Stewart Beck (Canada) *

15+ years domestic and foreign government experience

Currently President & CEO Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada

Sports Movement Nominee

Mr. Kelly Fairweather (South Africa)

Chief Operating Officer, International Tennis Federation.

Public Authority Nominee

Ms. Maja Makovec Brenčič (Slovenia)

Full Professor, International Business, University of Ljubljana, Faculty of Economics, Slovenia.

The detailed implementation plan for the governance reforms, which was approved by the ExCo in May 2019, outlines the expedited work required of the Committee. Of particular note, the Committee will:

  • Search for a new Compliance Review Committee Chair, and soon start vetting candidates for WADA’s other Standing Committee Chairs, for recommendation to the ExCo in January 2020;
  • In January 2020, provide a report on their skills mapping exercise of the ten stakeholder seats on the ExCo (to be appointed in November 2019) and recommend profiles for the new incoming independent members of the ExCo; and
  • Thereafter, be on standby to vet the candidates for the two new independent members.

Based on governance reforms, the inaugural Committee will hold office until the first permanent Committee is appointed by the ExCo in May 2020. The inaugural Committee members are eligible to apply to continue should they so wish.

* Subsequent to WADA’s October media release, Mr. Stewart Beck was approved by WADA’s ExCo to replace Mr. Simon Gillham who had to step down for personal reasons.