Nominations Committee

In November 2018, WADA’s Foundation Board approved wide-ranging governance reforms that included formation of a Nominations Committee to ensure the right people in terms of skills and independence serve in senior governance roles within WADA.

In October 2019, WADA outlined the composition and mandate of our inaugural Nominations Committee, which the Agency’s Executive Committee (ExCo) had approved in September 2019. The members were identified, recruited, vetted and recommended to the ExCo by Korn Ferry, an external agency that we had engaged for this purpose upon approval by the ExCo in May 2019. 

In May 2020, the official mandate period of the inaugural Nominations Committee ended; at which point, the five members of the inaugural Committee expressed their willingness to continue and the ExCo confirmed them as the permanent Nominations Committee. Because Members’ terms are for a period of three years, the ExCo agreed a rotation of staggered terms so that they do not all conclude at the same time.

Below are the members of the Nominations Committee:

Independent Chair

Ms Diane Smith-Gander (Australia)

Business executive with 30+ years experience in banking, technology, consulting, government and sport.

Independent Member

Ms Regine Buettner (Germany)

20+ years global experience in human resources (HR). Currently leading Global HR Practice for DHL Express.

Independent Member

Mr. Stewart Beck (Canada)

15+ years domestic and foreign government experience. Currently President & CEO Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada.

Sports Movement Nominee

Mr. Kelly Fairweather (South Africa)

Chief Executive Officer, International Tennis Federation.

Public Authority Nominee

Ms Maja Makovec Brenčič (Slovenia)

Full Professor, International Business, University of Ljubljana, Faculty of Economics, Slovenia.