Athlete Committee

Athletes are at the core of WADA’s mission. Our athlete engagement strategy engages and empowers athletes at all levels by educating them on the World Anti-Doping Code (Code) and associated International Standards (Standards), the rules that apply to them and how to help protect clean sport.

WADA’s Athlete Committee was established in 2005.  Its purpose is to provide an athlete perspective to WADA Management, the WADA Executive Committee and Foundation Board on all relevant anti-doping matters, and to represent the views and rights of athletes as it relates to anti-doping. Its objectives are to:

  • Support and promote voices of athletes on anti-doping issues by engaging, informing and interacting with athletes, athlete representatives and other relevant stakeholders;
  • Continually solicit and share athlete feedback on WADA programs and activities;
  • Review, evaluate and provide guidance on educational programs and materials;
  • Provide insight to and feedback on the World Anti-Doping Program including the Code, Standards, ADAMS, etc.;
  • Act as ambassadors for WADA and role models for clean sport;
  • Promote WADA’s Outreach activities and participate in events upon request; and
  • Assist in reviewing and recommending effective ways to reach athletes and their entourage.

The Athlete Committee Members are listed below.

Should you have questions regarding WADA’s Athlete Committee, please send your inquiry to Stacy Spletzer-Jegen, WADA’s Senior Manager, Athlete Relations & Communications.

Below is the current list of 2020 members.

Ben SANDFORD (Chair)
  • Three-time Olympian in skeleton
  • Member, New Zealand Olympic Committee Athlete Commission
  • Attorney


  • Three-time Olympian in shooting (skeet)
  • Olympic bronze medalist
  • Member, IOC Athlete Commission


  • IOC Executive Board Member and Athlete Commission Chairperson
  • FINA Athlete Committee Member
  • Vice-President, International Surfing Association
  • Vice-President, Zimbabwe Olympic Committee
  • Minister of Youth, Sport, Art and Recreation in Zimbabwe

Chelsey GOTELL
  • Three-time Paralympian in swimming
  • Twelve-time Paralympic medalist
  • Chairperson, IPC Athletes' Council Member
  • Member, IPC Governing Board and Canadian Paralympic Committee Board of Directors

Jeong-Ho HONG
  • Olympic gold, silver and bronze medalist in handball
  • World champion
  • Member, Korean Anti-Doping Agency Athlete Committee

  • Olympian in Basketball
  • ANOCA Athlete Committee member
  • Lead Educator & Steering Committee member, IOC Athlete Career Program
  • Mali NOC Executive Board member and Athlete Committee Chair

  • Two-time Olympian in badminton
  • Flag-bearer for Czech Republic (London 2012)
  • Cancer Survivor 2010


  • Olympic gold, silver and bronze medalist in table tennis
  • Member, South Korean National Olympic Committee Athlete Committee
  • Member, IOC Athlete Commission




  • Olympic gold and silver medalist in diving 
  • World Champion
  • FINA diving judge
  • Member, China Anti-Doping Education Committee



Adam Pengilly Adam PENGILLY

  • Two-time Olympian in skeleton
  • World and European medalist
  • 15 years as athletes representative


Yuhan TAN, MD

  • Two-time Olympian in badminton
  • Chairperson, Belgian Athlete Commission
  • Medical Doctor




  • Five-time Olympian in ice hockey
  • Olympic bronze medalist
  • Member, IOC Athlete Commission