WADA outlines composition of inaugural Nominations Committee

The World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) is pleased to provide further information regarding the composition and mandate of WADA’s inaugural Nominations Committee (Committee), which has been established to ensure that the right people, in terms of skills and independence, serve in senior governance roles within WADA. Formation of the Committee is one of the wide-ranging governance reforms that was approved by WADA’s Foundation Board in November 2018.

In terms of composition, in September 2019, the Agency’s Executive Committee (ExCo) approved the following members of the inaugural Committee. The members were identified, recruited, vetted and recommended to the ExCo by Korn Ferry, an external agency that WADA had engaged for this purpose upon approval by the ExCo in May 2019.

Independent Chair

Ms. Diane Smith-Gander (Australia)

Business executive with 30+ years experience in banking, technology, consulting, government and sport.

Independent Member

Ms. Regine Buettner (Germany)

20+ years global experience in human resources (HR). Currently leading Global HR Practice for DHL Express.

Independent Member

Mr. Simon Gillham (UK/France)

Business executive with 30+ years experience in communications, Corporate Social Responsibility and professional sport.

Sports Movement Nominee

Mr. Kelly Fairweather (South Africa)

Chief Operating Officer, International Tennis Federation.

Public Authority Nominee

Ms. Maja Makovec Brenčič (Slovenia)

Full Professor, International Business, University of Ljubljana, Faculty of Economics, Slovenia.

The detailed implementation plan for the governance reforms, which was approved by the ExCo in May 2019, outlines the expedited work required of the Committee. Of particular note, the Committee will:

  • Search for a new Compliance Review Committee Chair, and soon start vetting candidates for WADA’s other Standing Committee Chairs, for recommendation to the ExCo in January 2020;
  • In January 2020, provide a report on their skills mapping exercise of the ten stakeholder seats on the ExCo (to be appointed in November 2019) and recommend profiles for the new incoming independent members of the ExCo; and
  • Thereafter, be on standby to vet the candidates for the two new independent members.

Based on the recommendations of WADA’s Governance Working Group, the inaugural Committee will hold office until the first permanent Committee is appointed by the ExCo in May 2020. The inaugural Committee members are eligible to apply to continue should they so wish.