December 4, 2012
Bookmark and Share

International Standards: Questions & Answers

The World Anti-Doping Code Review has been underway since November 28, 2011 and will culminate on November 15, 2013 when WADA’s Foundation Board is presented with the final draft of the 2015 World Anti-Doping Code for approval.

Supporting the Code is a series of International Standards, and these important documents are also being reviewed to further strengthen WADA’s processes for the world’s anti-doping community.

What are the International Standards?

There are five International Standards that help to bring harmonization and clarity to the technical aspects of anti-doping. The International Standards cover testing, laboratories, therapeutic use exemptions (TUEs), the List of Prohibited Substances and Methods (List), and the protection of privacy and personal information.

Are the International Standards also under review?

Yes they are. The International Standards review consists of two consultation phases that run concurrently to the second and third consultation phases of the Code Review. During this time, four of the five International Standards - testing, TUEs, laboratories, and the protection of privacy and personal information - will be reviewed by WADA and its signatories.

Why are they being reviewed?

As with the Code Review, the review of the International Standards is designed to keep pace with the changing challenges faced by anti-doping organizations and sport across the world.

Changes to the Code may also require amendments to the International Standards and for this reason the two reviews are conducted in conjunction with each other.

Science is constantly evolving and with it the practices of athletes who use doping substances and methods. These factors must be taken into consideration, and the review must also reflect any legal developments that are relevant to these areas.

The review also allows WADA and its stakeholders to strengthen anti-doping procedures based on the experience and knowledge gained over the period in which they were last drafted.

Why are only four of the International Standards under review?

The International Standard for the List is reviewed every year and therefore stands apart from the 18-month review process for the rest of the International Standards.

Article 4.1 of the Code mandates WADA to revise and update the List at least once a year so that an effective and up-to-date document is available to sport and the anti-doping community at all times.

When will the four new International Standards come into force?

January 1, 2015.

The final draft of the International Standards will be tabled with the final draft of the revised Code at WADA’s Executive Committee meeting in September 2013.

The following month the Code and the International Standards will be sent to WADA’s stakeholders, and at the World Conference on Doping in Sport from November 12-15, 2013 they will be tabled for approval by WADA’s Executive Committee and Foundation Board.