November 11, 2011
Bookmark and Share

WADA President’s UNESCO address to be streamed live

The Conference of Parties to the International Convention against Doping in Sport takes place next week at the UNESCO headquarters in Paris, where WADA President John Fahey will address representatives of signatory States and Anti-Doping Organizations.

The Nov. 14-16 Conference will be opened by UNESCO Director General Irina Bokova, who will be followed by Mr. Fahey, WADA Vice-President and IOC Medical Commission President Arne Ljungqvist, and International Paralympic Committee Anti-Doping Commission President Toni Pascuel.

Among other high-level ministers and participants will be Hugh Robertson, the UK Minister for Sport and the Olympics, and David Douillet, the French Minister for Sport.

WADA Director General David Howman will also deliver a report on the developments and challenges faced by WADA in the fight against doping in sport.

Both his and the President’s presentations will be part of a live streaming of the Conference, along with that of Mr. Ljungqvist.

The Conference of Parties will examine the administration of the UNESCO Fund for the Elimination of Doping in Sport, and study the results of an electronic compliance monitoring system for signatory governments to the Convention.

The 2012 List of Prohibited Substances and Methods will also be submitted for adoption by the Conference.

Mr. Fahey will address the Conference at 10:30 CET (04:30 EST), followed by Mr. Ljungqvist, and later in the day by WADA Director General David Howman at 15:00 CET (09:00 EST).

To access the live streaming please click here.

Visit the UNESCO website by clicking here.